Logo

2001 50 hp Honda 4 stroke runs rough onoff

kenpz

"Hi I'm a newbie to this f

"Hi I'm a newbie to this forum and just purchased my first new boat. I bought it because it had a honda motor and I trust the reliability of Honda. The problem I am having is that it runs rough under load and won't plane sometimes. It won't idle at all, just shuts off. It did idle ok in my driveway but that doesn't help me. It won't idle any more in my driveway after today.I thoght maybe it just had to be run and then everything would be ok. I ran premium fuel figuring it would help clean out any gunk that might had clogged any jets. No luck. It'll run rough and not plane then it'll suddenly get up and go, then die again on and off. I took it out for the first time today and had fun with it when it ran but then it was back to on and off it felt like it was only running on 2 cylds when it ran bad. It may be my imagination but it seemed to pick up when I pumped the fuel bulb. It never went totally flat but I could give it a few good pumps with pressure and it ran for a few secs good. Then sometimes it ran fine with no sputtering for a few miles. I tried bypassing the fuel/water filter just in case the filter was clogged. I thought it worked but it was back to the on/off sputter in no time. The tach is also not working just in case this indicates any issues. this is a remote engine with electric start. It had been sitting for a while from whomever I purchased it but they said they had the carbs rebuilt and the engine had a clean bill of health, likely story. Any help would be greatly apprciated. I ordered a SELOC manual to help but experience always outweighs any manual."

It does sound like a fuel issu