Logo

Please help merc 140 problems

unscathed

"Hi everyone. I'm new to t

"Hi everyone. I'm new to this site. I have to admit I don't know much about boats, the 86 four winns I have now used to belong to my father.

The Problem:
The boat ran fine the 3 times I had it out last year, and I thought I had all the water drained from the engine prior to the winter, but when I fired it up today with the muffs on it started leaking water into the engine compartment. The water looks like it's coming from back behind by the starter and at a simillar spot on the other side. The motor was running great the whole time as I was unaware of any problems at first. However it started to get warm because the water wasn't getting through.

I can see that there seems to be a cork looking gasket back by where the water is leaking, but I'm not sure that it's simply a gasket problem.

Has anyone else ever seen this, or have any idea what is wrong?? I'm praying it's not a cracked block, but I just don't know enough about them.

Any help is much appreciated!"

exhaust riser may be cracked.

exhaust riser may be cracked. exhaust bellow may be cracked.
but both sides? that may be bad

"I guess I don't know what

"I guess I don't know what the exhaust riser is. But I could smell a lot of exhaust when the boat was running, and I didn't feel any exhaust coming out by the prop when it was running. Maybe a cracked manifold? If it is just a riser or something what are we looking at $$ wise? Really bad?"

"thanks! This makes me feel a

"thanks! This makes me feel a little better...maybe it's a water pump problem? I'm thinking maybe it's just leaking out of the one side and running over to the other, so it looks like it leaking there, but the majority of the water is coming out right by the alternator.

Like I said the motor was running fine, and I checked the oil and it still looks brand new and the levels are good. I'm really hoping for just a gasket or maybe a water pump or cracked riser."