Logo

Merc Cruiser 30 Liter Engine

rkonowaluk

"Hi, I'm new here.
I have

"Hi, I'm new here.
I have been offered a 19'Bow Rider Funliner with the Alpha One outdrive. I'm told the engine is toast. He says the block is cracked below the head. I haven't seen the boat or engine yet, so I have to take his word for it at this point.
My question is:
What's the going rate for a long block, short block or used Merc-Cruiser 3.0 liter engine. I am Mechanically inclined so that I thought I would do it myself.
Are there engine alternatives that are possible?
Used engine links to look for?
I'm really new to the boating arena, so please excuse my ignorance here. I appreciate your responses.
"

"I have a newer style (one

"I have a newer style (one piece rear mail seal) 3.0 L bare block for sale. It is a standard bore, and has been cleaned. It is in like new condition, ready to use.

(315) 343-3666 leave message, I'll return your call if I'm not home."

"Roman:

Welcome to the pr

"Roman:

Welcome to the program. Everyone will be glad to help you with your boat. Ask any question you want to make decisions. Don't apologize for not knowing and no question is stupid. The one you don't ask can't be answered.

Before you buy the boat, pay a professional to inspect it and give you a written report on its current condition. Ask him to inspect the transom, floor and stringers for rot. Very expensive repairs! If he says there is rot in the boat--run away from it unless you are willing to WYAO rebuilding it.

It is still expensive if you DIY. Expect to pay up to $85-100 per gallon for epoxy--it will take about 5-10 gallons depending upon the extent of the repairs. Then there is the cost of the lumber and fiberglass work and new carpet, etc.