Logo

2002 3 hp Yamaha Cooling System Check

"I am a decent mechanic by hob

"I am a decent mechanic by hobby but I have no direct experience with outboards.

I have recently inherited from my Dad 2002(?) 3hp Yamaha. It has been used maybe once or twice. It runs great and starts easily and idles like a dream.

However: I see no "pee stream" anywhere. How do I know that the cooling system is working properly?

Thanks in advance for your help. I really want to use the motor this weekend but not until I know the cooling system is working.

Regards,

Bill"

"Oh yeah, that's gotta be

"Oh yeah, that's gotta be right. I'll run right out and buy one.

My question is: how do I tell if the cooling system is working properly on a 3 hp Yamaha.

The motor has been used once or twice, I doubt the water pump has failed.

I seriously doubt you (or I) have enough information to come up with such a diagnoses.

Can anybody out there tell me what to check for?"

great little motor.....only th

great little motor.....only thing i dont like....to get reverse you have to spin the motor around which lets the "pee" hole pee inside the boat. It is directly above the pivot mount in the bottom of the case and pees directly down. right near the 2 screws that mount the handle( i just looked at mine)

"AHA, that's great. Thank

"AHA, that's great. Thanks for taking the time to check your motor. Given my lack of experience (with outboards) its good to know exactly where the "pee" should come from. I've heard various things (such as "it comes out the exaust"). Now I know for sure.

I'm going to start taking it apart and look for worn/broken/clogged stuff (impeller, water pump, passageways).

Thanks again"

as i have ran mine today i see

as i have ran mine today i see it does come out the exhaust too. I'm not a mechanic so be sure to read up and check everything necessary.
and good luck

"I ran a wire up through the p