Logo

23 CobraNo Reverse any more

coryjd

"I just bought this boat, and

"I just bought this boat, and took it on a spin with a mechanic from the dealer. Everything ran fine, F/N/R...and shifted easy. Took it out again for a very short ride when i got it, again F/N/R worked fine. Took her out today on her true maiden voyage... (Not really its an '89), and when in the dock...no reverse!! Got out from the dock, drove it for awhile, tried reverse, and it worked fine and shifted easy. Headed into the beach, put it in reverse, shifted really hard, but worked. Got back in and tried to take it out in reverse, now again no reverse.

The dealer is closed untill after the 4th, and i was really hoping to take it out. Is there something easy i can check to see if it came out of "wack" ?

I am pretty handy, but have no knowlege at all about I/O engines... So if you have any advice..please be gental with the acronyms.

Thanks!"

"I am no expert, but becoming

"I am no expert, but becoming one quickly. We had the similar problem and it ended up being the shift cable. Not an easy task and not impossible either, can be fixed but you have to put in some time and effort....Good luck.........."

"Very difficult shifting, shou

"Very difficult shifting, should be as easy as using one finger, lightly. We just bought our boat also, 1987 with omc cobra. We had overheating problems, ended up going through a lot, and when we put the lower and upper unit back together we lost reverse. After careful and time consuming searching, we observed slight freying in the shift cable by the transom...... It was difficult to shift, but not that difficult so without having pryor knowledge we did't realize it was the shift cable. NOW we know better........."

"I too am rapidly becoming an

"I too am rapidly becoming an expert.