Logo

Removing omc out drive to check flywheel

J

Jason O Harris

Hello all my name is Jason and

Hello all my name is Jason and from okc. I just got a 87 cheetah 20'. I have had it for two days and sunday after a long few days of fixing ods and ends it started some weird noise! I was told it was a new 4.3 merc engine. It sounds like a broken crank but it runs really good. So i need to inspect the flywheel some how? It sounds like crap and it shifts in gear good. Help.

Oh The knocking noise goes awa

Oh The knocking noise goes away about 1500rpm and goes away in gear. But it sounds like a broken crank but the engine runs to good. It started after we put it in the water. Thanks

Is this a Stringer drive or a

Is this a Stringer drive or a Cobra? It sounds like ball gears or U joints.

Hey Rick how do you tell the d

Hey Rick how do you tell the differents? Im new to the boat world. And i was reading down the line here that the out drive is to be down when engin is running? I had it up as i was fixing alot of loose ends. And the out drive says omc on it. Thanks

"I jad a similiar problem, and

"I jad a similiar problem, and 3 mechanics diagnosed it as a shot Rod bearing, and said to rebuild the bottom end. So i pulled the motor, and got it out, only to find the couping that bolts onto the crank and holds the flywheel in place was only held in by 2 hand tightened bolts and 4 really loose bolts. It made an awful racket before, sounded like rods banging around inside, but after it was tightened up, it ran like a top. Might not be the same problem, but check U joints, and make sure everything is running tight."

How do you pull the out drive

How do you pull the out drive off to check it? I am a mechanic but never work on out drive. Thanks Jason

"i'm not sure how you woul