Logo

OMC Knock Noise

J

jkesselr

"Hey guys,
I am new to boa

"Hey guys,
I am new to boats and bought a boat from a friend of mine with a boat repair business. It is a 79 Seaswirl with an OMC 800. The story was the guy that had the boat had the block crack, he pulled the engine with the intent to replace it and came on hard times. He sold teh boat with no engine. I bought the boat with no engine and then bought a good used 305 (are there really any of those?
lol.gif
) I put the engine in, did a bunch of other work and have it all dialed in... The trouble is there is a knocking sound from the outdrive area. It sounds like a rod knock, but I know the engine is good and didn't have any noises as it was recently ( as in in the last couple weeks) in another boat and performed flawlessly. My friend said he has never heard a noise like this before from an outdrive. He is busy trying to run his business, so I am basically on my own to figure it out. Any ideas? It sounds like it is coming from the area where the drive goes through the transom. I have not moved the drive from one extreme to the other, but the drive was turned a bit and it made it the noise, turning the drive strait did nothing to change the noise. Also, it makes the noise at all different RPMs. I even pulled the coil wire and cranked it over and could still here the noise a bit. Is theer a chance that this could be ball gears? They are worn, but I'd say the part s worn away maybe 3/32 of an inch. Basically the teeth are a nub, and that nub is worn away a bit - like not quite 1/8 of an inch. When the boat is in neutral, the prop turns a bit, but if you put your foot on it, it stops. Is that normal? There is also a bit of a grinding noise when I slowly shift it into gear - is that normal too? Sorry to ask so many dumb questions, but I am new to this."

"The noise is only in neutral?

"The noise is only in neutral? or also in F and R?
Is the tilt down all the way?