Logo

HELP Blown Everything

B

Brian M

"Ill Keep this as short as I C

"Ill Keep this as short as I Can.. But Please any and all Comments!!!!

I am a C-130 Mechanic, so i do know what i am doing ( i Hope So.
)

I changed the Impeller last week, took it to the water today.. ( Started Perfect at home, and today in water at idle, about 5 min while i put the truck away.. ) 10 min into WOT a Fricken Chooo chooo train and lots of smoke from my engine...

Ran it back 5 more min to get closer to Dock, b4 I really scared my self and had some 1 tow me in ( Thank God All Boaters Are Nice @@ )

I pulled it out and saw that the Water Intake, Line to the Gear Lube Resv. and everything else was Fried and the water intake tube GONE! on the lower unit.

My Uncle a marine mech, had me take off the lower unit, thinking i put the impeller in wrong or something... Well the impeller is Fine! the Tube that Sucks the water from the Pump to the Engine Got Kinked when i put the lower unit back on...

He said that what happened... he told me they sell a tool that you can fit so it stay perfect... ( They need to put that in the Book! )

I am confident that i can replace everything.. My Big Concern is the Engine... Did i do any damage running it for 5-7 min with out water>??? My uncle seemed confident it was ok.. I am just scared...

But Any comments or anything to ease my head!

Also i think the starter is going? It didnt want to crank ( slowwww crank ) After i blew the Hose... Does it need water for the process? Am i ok on the starter???

Its an 2003 Merc 3.0.. Alpha.."

"If it cranked good before, Th