Logo

Steering System

billkitt

"Hello All
First post. I&#3

"Hello All
First post. I'm restoring an 87 Searay 19'OB 3.0L Merc. w/Power steering. I got the engine running and serviced the out drive. Everything good so far. It's missing the trim motor (pump) so I'm searching for on as we speak. I am a master Auto Tech and currently an Instructor but I am still pretty hazy on boats. Here is my question: My steering wheel is locked. The outdrive is locked as well. 3 of us searched for a lock or something and we are stumpped. It has an OE ps system. We undid the cable on the unit and I can manually move drive to the left because the whole cable and casing are loose. Nothing to the otherside. When I say locked, I mean locked like a car steering wheel with the keys out. My Seloc online manual has not helped me on this one.

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Bill"

"power steering ram still conn

"power steering ram still connected? if so sounds normal. can you turn the wheel now? if not, replace helm/cable. try sterndrive engineering (S.E.I.) for trim pump. pretty good price. if you only need the motor, ARCO, or this site.(sierra)"

"Thanks Scott. What exactly i

"Thanks Scott. What exactly is the ram? Still can't turn the wheel at all. Like I said, it's like a car steering wheel with the keys out. Lock left, lock right. Is there some kind of trailering outdrive lock mechanism I'm missing?

Appreciate your help buddy!

Bill"

"sorry, there is no steering l