Logo

1994 mastercraft prostar 190 sill crank but not start

elgroppo

My brother left to sea on the

My brother left to sea on the USS Nimitz and left me with his ski boat. Unfortunately he left me with one that wont start. It will crank but not fire. I checked the output of the distributers and there is nothing. My brother said that it was working fine the last time he used it. I have limited knowledge of boats and was looking for some help with this one. Thanks in advance to those who help.

"Is there a lanyard on the saf

"Is there a lanyard on the safety switch, next to the throttle? If not, put it on. If it is there, wiggle the throttle while you crank- the shift cable may be a bit stretched and the neutral safety switch thinks it's in gear.

When you turn the key to on, you should hear a click and buzz for 2 seconds, then nothing. If you don't hear this, it could be what I described before. If you do hear this and is still won't start and you have access to a digital multi-meter, I can get you through this- I was a MC tech for about 5 years.

How long has the boat been sitting? If it's been a long time, the gas may be bad and I would check the raw water pump's impeller. Seeing that you have the LT-1, one thing I will tell you right now is that you don't want to overheat it because the heads don't survive it well and are expensive. Better to replace the impeller and be safe than have a problem. Also, if you'll be boating on a body of water that has weeds in it, you'll want to become familiar with clearing out the transmission oil cooler, at the rear of the motor on the port side. You'll want to clear it out when the boat is on the trailer or a lift because the hose you need to remove is between the inlet of the cooler and the hull, which means that the water pressure will cause the water to get in the boat. I have a set of forceps that I grab the weeds with. since my fingers don't fit in the opening.