Logo

50 gxi vs 57 gxi

pm92372

I recently had the misfortune

I recently had the misfortune of losing my 5.0 gxi to non winterizing. O.K I`m over that pain. I have a brand new 5.7 long block on the way. I`m am told that I will need to have the E.C.M. recalibrated to adjust to the 5.7. Is there any other issues someone may know about prior to installation. I have had enough surprises
Thanks..

"It can be done , swaping out

"It can be done , swaping out the efi & elec iginition between a 5. lt to a 5.7 but make sure the cam in the long block is ground to vovlo specs.or the ECM will be confused.Also as a Volvo mechanic I have never heard of a recalibrition on the unit. Automotive (GM)tools will not work. completly different pirameters.
Believe you will end up having to purchase a new ECM.Best go through this issue with your mechanic

best luck
BJ"

"BJ- what is Volvo using for t

"BJ- what is Volvo using for their ECM- is it a Delphi piece or Motorola? I know Mercruiser switched to Motorola after a few years of injection but Indmar stayed with the Delphi. No recal at all? I know they did use Delphi (when I talked to the national service mgr in '99) but the dealership I worked at had an ownership meltdown and I never got to work on the V-P motors/drives.

True- GM calibrations will not work and even the diagnostic computers would need the marine card in order to see/control what is needed.

Bobby- I would call Volvo-Penta and ask what the differences would be, based on your motor serial number and boat model. The MAP sensor will send different readings at the same loads but may still be within the same window for the fuel mapping tables. Maybe a different top RPM and slight mechanical differences but the harness and sensor locations should be the same. It's the same block after all, just a different deck height/stroke.

First boat or first in that climate (not used to freezing)?"

"Jim Volvo is using DELPHI E

"Jim Volvo is using DELPHI ECM`s