Logo

Turbo engine

• Thread starter Michael Whitaker
  • Start date
M

Michael Whitaker

"hello i am a big fan of cars

"hello i am a big fan of cars and engines but i am new to boats. i have a 1975 MFG GYPSEY that has a 140 hp engine in it. now i have a couple turbo nissan engines laying around and i was playing with the idea of putting one into this boat. the engine has about 250 hp when the boost is in but will cruise at about 160 hp. now i know that something like this will take some work to get it it to fit together but my main questions are, do you think the boat will hold up to the extra 110 hp? will the stern drive hold up? or will the boat just rip apart. any input will be greatly appericated

thanks mike"

"Mike,

Your main questions

"Mike,

Your main questions should be "can I obtain Coast Guard approved components for this engine which will enable it to be used safely in a marine application" and "how in the world am I going to cool that exhaust system". If you get those figured out, then you can worry about the following:

Who makes marine engine mounts for this engine?
How do I bolt my engine to my Mercruiser bell housing?
How do I couple the engine to the shaft?
How do I "marinize" this engine?
What gear ratio do I need to be able to plane this boat with so little low end torque, but so high top end RPMs?
Why in the world do I want to put all of this time and money into a 30 year old boat when for less money I can buy a newer one, turn key, which will be safer and perform better?

Good luck
Rick"

"Michael:
Please have someo

"Michael:
Please have someone videotape you and your boat at its innaugral voyage. Then you will win 1st prize on America's Funniest Videos when the video shows the engine and outdrive slicing thru the haul and passing you in your captain's chair.

Seriously, Rick is giving you the answer you need. Besides, if your were able to do the list he provided, did you look at the Coast Guard placard for the boat's HP limit?
Guy"