Logo

57 Merc died while running

divrddn

"My 1995 5.7 Merc died after r

"My 1995 5.7 Merc died after running for about 10 min. today. Started fine and ran fine until stalled. It has elec. F.I., gas in the tank, its not the kill switch. F.I. is visibly supplying fuel so it seems to be a spark / ignition issue which I have no experience with. The starter was just replaced w/ new 2 wks ago and boat has been used daily until todays sudden conk out. All electronics are still working. Coincidence with new starter??? Any trouble shooting ideas? Thanks"

Take ignition module from the

Take ignition module from the distributor and check it out. If it is original replace it anyway.

"It could be as Simple as a Br

"It could be as Simple as a Broken or Misplaced Wire.....

You say all these things have been replaced,..
I Assume that you Hired to work out,.??

I'd be doing some Diagnostics before I started Throwing multihundred dollars Parts At It......

If You can't do it, Find somebody who Can.....
Maybe I'm Wrong, but the tone of your post suggests that You're Not doing the work Yourself...."

"The shotgun method will fix i

"The shotgun method will fix it eventually, but isn't very efficient, except for the parts store owner being able to buy that new house. There are only a few things that cause the ignition system to produce spark. Start at the beginning and work forward. Since it's injected, the ECM will need RPM input- that's the first place I would look. The second place I would look is at the coil- is there 12V where it should be present? Is the coil wire fully engaged? What about the other plugs and grounds?"

"The starter I did myself. Som