Logo

NewbieHelp with which engine is which

jwfoster4

"I am new to the power boat wo

"I am new to the power boat world and am shopping for a used cruiser 26-28' (former sailor)

I am getting really confused on engines. Does anyone know of a resource guide somewhere online that can help differentiate between all the year models, sizes, letters, and horsepowers.

I did learn that MPI stands for multi port injection, so that's a start.

Any help would be appreciated."

"A boat that size needs a 350

"A boat that size needs a 350 cube V-8 (or it will be a gas hog and real dog). There's a whole bunch of motors that size out there and, believe it or not, virtually ALL of them are Chevy based. Kinda simplifies things, right?

Horsepower ratings will vary from 260 to 315 or so, but since you want a cruiser, it doesn't matter: mid-range torque is what drags the boat along, and all 350s have roughly the same torque. (The best of the 350 Chevies is the Vortec design. I had a 315 hp replacement Vortec in my old Bayliner and it performed about the same as old 260 hp engine.)

Next comes the outdrive. Look for a Volvo-Penta or a Mercruiser, and FORGET about any other kind. And stay away from inboards in this size since they'll most likely be a single engine--hell to manuever (unless you have years of dock-banging experience).

THat's start! Be sure to get a survey if you can.

Jeff"

"That boat survey, if done pro

"That boat survey, if done properly, is a MUST-HAVE for a first time boat owner! It can be a little spendy ($15-20 per foot of boat), but it's money well spent. Make sure it includes a sea trial too. Most brokers have a list of guys they recommend to their potential buyers."

"Thanks for the responses, I a