Logo

Interceptor 312 vs 292

P

Peggy

"Hi,

I'm a complete new

"Hi,

I'm a complete newbie to inboards. Always had boats with outboards, but now are looking into buying a boat that has a Ford Interceptor 312-so the seller says. It has dual carbs, velvet drive.
The sticker on the block says it's 150 hp. Could that make it a 292 instead of a 312? The boat is a 1960 and the engine is original to the boat.

Is it true that parts are hard to find for these engines?

What should the minimum compression be? Anyone else have any advise on what to look for during the test drive?

Thanks!
61371.jpg
pic of engine

"I'm not an expert on the

"I'm not an expert on the old Y block motors at all, except for the notion they were work horses. I believe the 292 and 312 are essentially the same engine. Since marine engines are vastly detuned, fitted with low compression pistons (probably 8.0:1 on your motor) for longevity, and low rpm "torque cams" (essentially a truck or RV cam), there won't be much or any real usable difference in power between a 292 and a 312 marine motor.

If there was a difference in power in the automotive version, it was probably due to a bit more compression and cam, and that power could actually be felt or seen by a side by side race with another car with "the other" motor. In a boat, however, because all marine engines are detuned from the automotive stage of tune, I doubt if there would be much gained from 20 cubic inches.

What would I look for? I'd check the dipstick to be sure it was oil, and not loaded with "motor honey" to make things quiet. See how she runs up and down the throttle range. Check compression in all cylinders after the motor is hot, with throttles wide open, and with the wire removed from the coil. The reading is not as important as the relative deviation across the board. Even engines with a fairly big deviation can be made to run very nicely.