Logo

Manimum and Cruizing RPM for Ford 50 and Stringer 800

texun

"All,
I have a '76 24&#3

"All,
I have a '76 24' Fiberform Flybridge model with a 5.0/302 and a Stringer 800 outdrive. Recently purchased and repowered. As I am new to the I/O setup, I have no idea what is the correct RPM for this configuration.
I took it for its "maiden voyage", and top end was 3800 RPM, and cruized comfortably at 3100. The mechanic that put it in said this is low, and should operate betwee 4200 and 4600. Is this correct? I know this is high rev for my truck, and just going on that principle.
All help deeply appreciated,
Texun"

"Sounds like the mechanic is r

"Sounds like the mechanic is right, but don't know if you want to chase that extra rpm. What was the speed like at 3100 and 3800. Some times people put props on to get certin performance. And they don't care about top rpms."

"Thanks for the reply capt.

"Thanks for the reply capt.

Have no speedometer, and no gps at this early stage, and kinda hard to judge. My guess, as I ran next a cattle boat on the way back in and outran it at the 3100 RPMs, so I am estimating a little above 15 mph,,, maybe 18."

"Also, would like to have a fe

"Also, would like to have a few mph out of it. If the engine is designed to handle a cruizing RPM of 4200, I would think that would add another 5 mph or more. Is that a good estimate?"

"At first look I'd say you

"At first look I'd say you should be able to run 24-28 mph at around 3200rpm to 3600 rpm with the right prop. Kinda looks like it may have been prop'ed down for fishing slow. Check around a little, talk to a prop shop, or Try Michigan Wheel Props, web site might be able to get info on what to use. Also as a starting place see if you can find the markings on the prop you have now as to its pitch."

"Just What Prop is on it Now,.

"Just What Prop is on it Now,..??...

If you keep Lugging that motor like That,......

Detonation will burn Holes in those Brand New Pistons......