Logo

74 Johnson Poor idle

mike_lee

"I have a 1974 johnson 50hp &#

"I have a 1974 johnson 50hp (50ESL74M) with an idling problem. I t seems to start and run fine through the earmuffs, but when put into the water takes long cranks to fire and the idle is unstable. Also it wont idle in gear and needs to be slammed into gear to take off. The problem seems to be worse when it has been running a while. The motor had a freshen up with new rings and conrod bearings four outings ago (just before I got it). The compressions are 150 and 152. I have set the timing at about 3 degrees, syncronised linkages and made sure butterflies shut fully on both carbies. I am a motor mechanic by trade, with some two-stroke bike experience. Any help would be greatly appreciated."

"Using a spark tester whereas

"Using a spark tester whereas you can set a gap of 7/16" (and with the s/plugs removed), the spark should jump that gap with a strong blue lightning like flame.... a real Snap! Does it?

If so, then I would strongly suspect that the carburetors are fouled somewhat. In which case, remove, clean, and rebuild them using new carburetor kits.

Perhaps they were already reworked. If so, either something was overlooked or that previous work was quite some time ago.

Note that the spark plugs should be Champion QL77JC4 plugs gapped at .040 .

Let us know about the spark test."

"Thanks for the reply Joe. I h