Logo

HELP newbie and itbs getting cold

2nd_chance_ii

Hi every one!(Am I gald I

Hi every one!(Am I gald I found this place)

I just got my first mercruiser. I was able to get this boat cheap through an insurance company. The boat drifted off from its previous owner and ended up on some rocks. The hull was punctured and the lower unit dinged up. Next year this will be my project.
I just got the boat yesterday and temps will be dropping below freezing any day. I'll run a little heater out there for insurance for the time being.
I want to ensure that no further damage occurs and I have no experience with I/O motors and I have no manual. The previous owner says the Engine was never submerged but when he pulled the boat out of the water and onto the trailer the water that was in the boat all ran to the back around the engine. He is not sure if water went in side or not and he never ran the boat after the incident. I don't even know if the engine has been winterized. Obviously not properly if the engine has not been run. Any help or advise would be greatly appreciated.

"Well,........

It'd be

"Well,........

It'd be Nice if we knew What Motor,+ What Drive you're talking about........."

"You got it cheap? Good, then

"You got it cheap? Good, then spend your first 'smart' money on a good Mercruiser manual for that engine/ outdrive. And, PLEASE, buy it from this site.

A neat winter project. I envy you!

Jeff"

"I'd start with changing t

"I'd start with changing the oil in the engine and the outdrive.
Then run the engine. (If there was water in the engine oil, let then engine heat up to normal op temp, then change the oil again.)