Logo

1990 23 OMC Cobra

Hi everyone I'm new to the

Hi everyone I'm new to the board as well as new to the boating life. I recently pickup a 1990 Sunbird w/2.3 liter OMC. The boat is a 16.5f fiberglass boat. The prop on the boat is a 15:1.
Couple of questions the previous owner(PO) claims the engine to be a 128hp engine is it? And what is ie really rated at I kind've think it more on the 105hp side myself. Next question I have. When looking over the out drive with it in the fully "up" position there is a bellow there that I suspect is for exhaust since putting the muffs. is this bellow suposed to have holes in it or not.

"The power rating is as staded

"The power rating is as staded 128Hp, but the torque is another thing if You compare to the 3.0/130 hp engines!
The holes on the exhaust bellow is 'relief' holes to reduce the exhaust back pressure when starting and to drain the exhaust system from water when tilting the drive."

Thank you. Yes this doesn'

Thank you. Yes this doesn't feel as though there is enough torque to do much with. The PO claims that the original prop was a 21. Is this correct? could the prop indeed be a 21. He changed it to a 13dia x 15 pitch. I'd like to get this thing to "pop" out the water quicker. I don't really care for speed since I'm mostly an inland lake boater.

Any help
Thank you

"it sure should "pop"

"it sure should "pop" on a 15p. watch top end revs, that boat should run a 17, or 19. unless You have a pallet of bricks aboard."

"Or really heavy relatives. D

"Or really heavy relatives. Don't laugh. I've seen some huge passengers in boats. Each one was like two normal weight people. In that case, you'd need less pitch to get on top.

Jeff

PS: As Scott said, if you pitch down, watch the tach to avoid over-reving the motor and all will be well. Few people run a boat wide open for long!"

"Thank you all for the respons