Logo

1996 mercury 150 efi shift problem

Tkowens8

Hey everyone thanks for reading, I'll start off saying this is the first outboard motor I've rebuilt, I'm an auto mechanic but I wasnt trying to pay for a rebuild since I fix cars daily

Anyway to issue I bought the boat it had 2 burnt cylinders (which I did know about) I rebuilt it and set the power head back on yesterday and got everything bolted back up and was hooking the shift and throttle cables back up when I tried to spin the prop and with it in fwd the prop free spins both ways then in neutral it does the same when I shift it to reverse it locks in and dont spin either way

When I spin the flywheel with the motor in reverse it spin like it should or atleast like i would think it would, but I've pulled the cable off the shiftinkage and tried to push it till it bottoms our on the bracket and it never locks in to fwd, I've even took the whole bracket off and tried moving the shift lever all the way fwd and it never locks in if I apply hard pressure to the linkage I can hear it click when the prop spins but with the cable hooked to it and the lever all the way fwd theres no clicks

Any help is greatly appreciated thank you

I would say when you put back the power head. The shift shaft was not lined up properly.
Best to remove lower unit and reset that way. Make sure lower unit is in forward gear and the shifter is also in forward gear when you re install the lower unit. Then check again should ratchet in fwd. Lock in reverse .

I would say when you put back the power head. The shift shaft was not lined up properly.
Best to remove lower unit and reset that way. Make sure lower unit is in forward gear and the shifter is also in forward gear when you re install the lower unit. Then check again should ratchet in fwd. Lock in reverse .