Logo

1982 Merc 50 hp 2 stroke starts for a few seconds then dies.

planerie

Ok... I just purchased an older boat with a 1982 Mercury 50HP 4 cyl 2 stroke. When I first got it I had no spark so I replaced the stator. Now I have spark, it cranks for for about 3 seconds then dies. I have to choke and throttle it all the way up for it to actually crank. It cranks revs (smokes a lot) and then dies. It will crank and do the same thing over and over every time I crank it this way. I did have an issue with losing prime but I fixed a few spots that leaked fuel and was sucking in a little air. Even after fixing those leaks it still does the same thing. The person I bought the boat from told me they had just cleaned the carbs but I took them off anyway and checked them. They do look to be cleaned and the diagrams and gaskets all look new. I am at a loss so was hoping if someone can point me in the right direction. I am no mechanic but I can pretty much fix anything if I can just get pointed in the right direction. Thanks in advance for any help you guys can give me.

Thanks,

Preston

Some may get tired of hearing this but the first thing to do is get a compression check and check for spark. You can get a loaner compression gauge free from Auto Zone etc...........Then start inspecting and replacing the fuel lines (all) and the wiring on your motor. The year class has a bad reputation for wiring that looses the insulation. Next, do the fuel pump and try to get it running. You may have a great motor that has a lot of life left. If your compression is good, it would be safe to spend some money on it. When it runs well enough to try it in a lake, get a Mercury Service manual and change the water pump and make sure there is no water in your lower end. Use only unleaded regular gasoline and a quality two cycle oil at 50 to 1. Sea foam added to the tanks is a very good thing. Post your results as you go. Never be afraid to ask for help. This forum is and was a Godsend for me.