Logo

overheat alarm on honda bf225 2006

debaser4

im a newbie.

ran engine for about a half hour at good speed....got a alarm. shut it down waited 10 mins...ran fine the rest of the day but i took it easy.

next outing: ran engine good to the sandbar, on the way home thru the intercoastal got the warning alarm when i kicked up the speed (after a few mins). shut down, waited 10 mins, ran it low speed the way home.

next outing: ran engine real good for about 45 mins, got the alarm...shut it down, waited 10 mins, ran it low-med speed all the way home.

so it looks like im getting this alarm rather constantly now if i run the engine around 3500-5000 rpms for a bit.

water out of pee hole doesn't seem to be too hot. alarm is beep! beep! beep! beep! beep! (until key is turned to off).

this is a used 2006 bought with 165 hours on it, i have put another 80 hours on it before i started getting alarm. pee hole is good flow i think...i have to stick weedwacker line in it every so often to get it strong....but i dont know how strong it needs to be?

where should i start? possible problems? any help would be appreciated...i have zero dollars to spend and will likely need to fix this myself.

2006 honda bf225 on a 2006 carolina skiff seachaser 2400 CC

If the alarm is beep beep beep....that is not a solid beeeeeeeeeeep, then you are not overheating.

What warning lights are on or off at the time?

Most likely it is a sensor. The most common is the one that engine is the O2 sensor....but should not jump to conclusions until you check the lights and check for codes.

Chawk, has posted many times in the past how to check for the codes. It involves shorting across a couple of contacts and counting the flashes in the check engine light.

Mike