Logo

Prop choice

Hi, I have been looking at old posts and am hoping I can get some help here. I have a 2stroke 1980s 40hp mariner on the back of my 16 foot 6 Broom Aquarius speedboat. I tested her for the first time on the weekend. I am only getting 11knots out of her at full throttle. I feel this is a little slow and so plan a tune up. This I am happy with but prop choice I have no experience with. The prop supplied is pretty shabby so I am looking to change it. The only markings on it is PR505 a sixth digit/number is unreadable. My thoughts are that the prop may be no good for my set up. Any thoughts on what my prop is and what prop I should receive would be gratefully received.

Maybe a little under powered,they're a pretty heavy boat for 40HP,most I see for sale have 90HP+ hanging on the back.
I'm going to guess you're located in UK,check out these guys,http://www.cmba-uk.com/ ,a fair few Broom's owners on there

Thanks for your replies. I have a Johnson 85hp v4 that I am stripping and rebuilding. From the bottom up when I find the time. I have only serviced the gearbox so far, (3 kids and myself and my wife in full time employment). So do intend to fit that in the future the mariner will have to do for now. It's only for light family use, spot of fishing and going up river. I am in the uk Plymouth. I have tried cmba allready. I dont think my boat is enough of a classic on there. Any thoughts on the correct prop size and pitch? Thanks

Hah,if my auld Shakespeare is enough of a classic,your broom definitely is.A lot of them,like yourself,working to keep the powers that be well fed.
As Jeff says,lot less prop,though you're not going to get a great deal of speed.