Logo

Exhaust leaking through steering bracket? Also, removing the long shaft... 1986 Johnson 6hp tiller

redfishsc

Contributing Member
First off, thanks to everyone (and the owners of this forum) for all the help you've given me with this motor. I'm a rookie at outboard repair and this motor is giving me a pretty good run for the money.

I think I have it running well now (throttle issues, carb cleaned, etc) but I have a pesky exhaust leak that I'm having trouble finding out how to approach. If I leave the cowl on, the motor eventually starts to stifle and doesn't run well at all (takes only a couple minutes to begin). There's always a small amount of 2-cycle smoke coming up from around the motor around the bracket that mounts to the transom, and around the tiller's main bracket.

You can see in the pics where I've put arrows to the two places I've seen the exhaust coming from. This has left oily deposits in these areas, and there's oil specks all in the lower part of the cowl. Apparently this has gone on for a while.

If this repair involves removing the middle section, I may just remove the extension that makes this a long shaft, since even with a jack plate raising the motor up a good 6", the AC plate still sets a couple inches below the keel. I think raising it up some will help this boat move along a little better. Adding the jackplate, by itself, increased my speed some.

j6rlcde_exhaustleak_zps0747982b.jpg

I do not know if this matters, but the gear shift knob does not shift into reverse. Seems like it is in the same place as the exhaust leak, and I was told that someone bumped it a while back (previous owner). Not sure what happened other than the shift knob got jammed in a little, if you try to put it in reverse, it hits the lower cowl and you can tell something inside is jammed up.

I wasn't going to fiddle with the reverse for now but if I have to remove any of this, or if it's related, I'll try to fix it.

Does this help?