Logo

1989 Evinrude 50HP Problems

mitch1204

Hi guys, new here! Hopefully you guys can give me some insight. I've been working on cars for 35 years and my boat motor knowledge is limited. I've rebuilt carbs and fuel pumps many times along with water pumps. That's about the extent of my boat motor knowledge.

I bought a pontoon boat with a 1989 Evinrude 50HP (E50TLCEC) last Sept. When I checked it out the guy told me he rebuilt it in 2011. He had a small home shop and I saw where he worked on motorcycles and such. Compression was right at 132 psi on both cylinders and I've seen evidence of new gaskets and where the motor was broke in two. With cuffs on the motor she ran beautifully. I brought her home and conditioned the fuel and ran it about 5 minutes. Then she sat until now.

Then a couple days ago I ran her and she started up fine for a few minutes and then started running rough. I had to keep choking her or she would quit. Then she quit all together. So I thought I would investigate the carbs. As soon as I opened the drains one was dry and the other nothing but which appeared to be water come out. The only thing I could figure was I accidently left the tank vent open and we have had some heavy rains this winter.**I drained the tank and the fuel line the best I could.*I dropped the bowls and made sure the needle valve wasn't dirty which they wasn't. The gaskets look old and the floats appear to be saturated as well. So I plan on rebuilding them. The fuel pump had wet areas and I plan on rebuilding that as well. I put her back together to see if the water was the issue. This engine was a VRO but the tank was removed and now you mix it. He has one line plugged at the fuel pump and another one I guess was the other end. He also has a 3 prong connector unplugged on the port side.*