Logo

Where to place fuel primer bulb?

wassajet

Contributing Member
Hi, i need to relocate my fuel tank from the stern to the bow of my 14 foot runabout because after installing a second battery i have too much weight at the stern.What i need to know is can i locate the fuel primer bulb up the front next to where i steer to save going down the back near the motor every time i need to prime the fuel line. The primer bulb will be about 4 feet from the petrol tank which means there will be about another 10 feet of fuel line before it connects to the 55hp. Johnson motor.Will this be ok or does the primer bulb need to be closer to the motor? As by now you will probably be aware i am a novice when it comes to motors, so any help will be appreciated please.

Well I don't see where it would matter the primer bulb just pressurizes the fuel line for the motor. But it u think about it the rear is the best place to put the primer, when u are getting the boat ready to launch just reach in and pump it up. it should stay pressurized for the complete trip, if u are having to pump it up several time on the same trip u may have other problems.

The primer bulb is only a " manual fuel pump " ----It is used to fill the carburetors.----------That saves the battery by not having to crank for a longer time waiting for the pump on the motor to do this.----Or it saves one from getting " popeye arms " on a manual start motor.------Put the bulb next to where you steer if you like that.