Logo

Pontoon boat, anode. how do they work

meandmyharley

OK, I am fairly new to boating. In June I purchased a 1978 pontoon 25footer. I have since tore it down to just the pontoons and cross members and rebuilt it back up with marine plywood, new carpet, new furniture and electronics. I have been working now on cleaning the oxidation off of the aluminum. I saw an advertisement about sacrificial anodes helping with keeping the oxidation to a minimum. My question is; how does this work? where do I mount it? does it work when the boat is on the trailer and stored for the winter? do they hook to the battery?
Any help would be greatly appreciated. I have an 1976 evinrude 70HP outboard on it.
Thank you, Bill Knapp

OK, I am fairly new to boating. In June I purchased a 1978 pontoon 25footer. I have since tore it down to just the pontoons and cross members and rebuilt it back up with marine plywood, new carpet, new furniture and electronics. I have been working now on cleaning the oxidation off of the aluminum. I saw an advertisement about sacrificial anodes helping with keeping the oxidation to a minimum. My question is; how does this work? where do I mount it? does it work when the boat is on the trailer and stored for the winter? do they hook to the battery?
Any help would be greatly appreciated. I have an 1976 evinrude 70HP outboard on it.
Thank you, Bill Knapp

Ayuh,.... Anodes protect against Electrolysis, not corrosion, 'n only in the water, not on the wagon...

Aluminum's natural corrosion film, protects the aluminum...
Donno why yer tryin' to take it all off...

Ayuh....i am not taking anything off...just bring back the shine. Maybe you should give it another thought...AYUH...electrolysis results in corrosion. AYUH...have a great day.
Ayuh,.... Anodes protect against Electrolysis, not corrosion, 'n only in the water, not on the wagon...

Aluminum's natural corrosion film, protects the aluminum...
Donno why yer tryin' to take it all off...