Logo

Honda BF50, not started in 3 years, what to do?

WhaleBait

Hi, just joined, lots of good information here.

I have a 1995 BF50A on a 15' Boston Whaler. I have had it since new and it has always worked well. The problem is I have not started it in over 3 years. I did not take any action to mothball it, so to speak. I talked with one of the local (Charlotte NC) Honda dealers and they suggested it probably needs the carbs reworked/cleaned and also an impeller? They also mentioned that the whaler fiberglass fuel tank may need to be replaced or have some type of filter put on because of the affects of ethanol gas.

Although I have tools, am relatively handy and have a covered work area, I have read enough on this forum to make me think that even with a shop manual this is probably not a job I should attempt as I have no experience with outboards other than changing the oil and filter.

I have two questions:

1. Does the suggested service sound about right?

2. If a motor has not started in years, is it a good idea to put a small about of oil in the spark plug hole, let soak, and gently turn over a few times? If so, I would feel better about it if I did this myself before I took it in to the dealer. What weight oil would I use? Perhaps I would do a "cold" oil and filter change as well?

[FONT=&quot]thanks very much for any ideas,[/FONT]

Hi WhaleBait!

Welcome to the forum. First, I would agree with your Honda dealer on at least two of the three and probably "punt" on the third.