Logo

Honda 40 4 stroke choke control issues

Bill Graves

Honda 40 4 stroke choke control issues
Hi I am new to the forum,
THE STORY
I have a honda 40hp 4 stroke last year I took it out of storage it had been in storage for 4 years replaced the lower unit seals then had carb problems took it to the boat shop they had it for 2 months and were unable to fix it they re replaced the lower unit seals they said I did not put them in right, not sure if i didn't as I have no experience working on marine engines. Took it to another boat shop as the first shop "couldn't get the gaskets" by this time it was November not good boating weather in Kansas. The second boat shop was able to get the fuel system back together with what appeared to be the right gaskets.
This summer I got the boat out again it would not start seafoamed it it still would not come off of the choke to idle called boat shop #2 they stated that I had not properly set the fuel system for storage and I needed to clean the carbs they were not interested in helping me and will not return my calls.
I took off the cabs myself kept them in order and was lucky to not damage the gaskets I noticed that there was a lot of gasket material on the garbs that was not from the new gaskets so I cleaned that off ran carb cleaner though every orifice I could find and made sure air could get through there was weird green debris in the lower carbs in the bowls and in the jets cleaned that off. Used spray carb cleaner to flush the tube behind the carbs it is a metal tube that connects to all the carbs. Like I said I cleaned any hole that I could see.
Put it all back together now the boat idles and will even go in to gear.
I told you all of the story just in case this problem is something simple that I did.
END --THE STORY