Logo

Fuel/oil ratio for Johnson 15 hp

T Ranger

Good morning all. This is my first time on and I have a dumb question. Forgive me. I am new to forums but not to outboard motors. I have a 93 15 hp johnson and I would like to be sure of the fuel/oil ratio she would be the most happy with. I am thinking of using Amzoil interceptor 2/cycle oil any thoughts? Thanks.

Always mix at 50:1 using a -TCW-III oil.---------------Never mind what some containers say about being good for 100:1--------------When a manuafactures suddenly says their motors can run at 50:1 instead of 25:1 what are the REALLY telling you.---------------They are saying your motor will run nice with less smoke but not for as many hrs !!!!

One tip here: this really depends on the speed you will be running your motor. If you will often run at full throttle, use 50:1 and err on the side of too much oil. If you will be trolling or primarily only using the motor for getting out of a slip, you can get by with a higher ratio (less oil), but I wouldn't personally go above 70:1. If you have black gummy oily sludge coming out of the exhaust, chances are your ratio is too high. I typically run about 60:1, and I keep a small vial of the difference to add to my tank if I sense the need to motor some distance at full throttle somewhere, like back to the dock. When this happens, I usually have some sludge in the exhaust that will need to be wiped up afterwards.

Odd, when I do that, I get tons of unburnt oil out the exhaust. I even have to make the motor run a little leaner when I'm just running at low RPM for a long time, otherwise I get lots of smoke and have a nasty cleanup job at the end of the day.

I also just checked LeeRoy Wisner's fine article at http://www.leeroysramblings.com/Johnson 9.9_15.htm and he says: