Logo

1961 Evinrude Fastwin 18 HP not shifting

kensho1976

We picked up a 1961 Evinrude Fastwin 18 HP engine last week for our aluminum V-hull, and took it out today to give it a spin. Unfortunately, two problems plagued us pretty much the whole day. Luckily, I had a trolling motor with me, so we were able to get back to the boat ramp. Excuse my poor engine lingo, as I'm not a mechanic by trade or hobby.

1) The engine would not stay running unless the choke was out. We got the fuel lines, bulb, and tank with the engine. I filled up the 3 gallon tank today with fresh gas and put a 24:1 oil mixture in. If I turned the tiller to "shift", the engine would die unless I kept the choke out.

2) The engine would not shift. The shift lever seems to work, but putting it in forward or reverse doesn't seem to do anything. I can hear the engine going, see bubbling water (which I assume is the water pump), but we don't "go" anywhere. I did manage to get it going forward one time, and we were moving at a good rate of speed, but the engine died about 30 seconds into it. I took off the cowling and see where the shift lever affects the engine, but I don't see it actually "doing" anything when I shift it.

I'm not above tearing the thing apart, so I just need some hints or pointers on what to look at first. I plan on replacing the lower gear oil today. Any help would be appreciated.

I bought some engine cleaner and sprayed it on all the mechanicals while trying to avoid electrical stuff. I scrubbed it down real good and rinsed it off.

I gapped and installed new spark plugs.

I checked the lower gear oil. The oil that came out had water in it. It was probably more water than oil. I let it drain well, then replaced the gear oil by squeezing the gear oil in the lower hole until it came out the upper hole. I then replaced the upper screw, then the lower screw.