Logo

BF2D Propeller not turning, need help please!!

Carls421

Wondering if anyone can help me??

My Honda BF2D Outboard propeller isn't turning when the engine is running. Bearing in mind I am all new to outboards although I am a mechanic, so please be gentle....

The history of the outboard to me is very brief, It was given to me by a friend saying it wouldn't start, he has had it on his very cluttered bench for a good few months, but hasn't ever had it running.

After looking at it, the carbs bowl was detached (Threads had crumbled) so I have replaced that with a brand new one. It now starts and runs, but the propeller doesn't turn, I checked the shear pin, it was snapped so I have replaced it but still doesn't turn. Whilst inside the propeller housing I checked the gearing that goes from the drive shaft to the propeller shaft, these gears are perfectly intact, not sheered or any metal deposits.

1st question, whilst the engine is NOT running, should I be able to turn the propeller by hand? (I cannot do this)

I am guessing the outboard has a clutch? Could this be the problem? Or is is Direct Drive? How would I get into have a look at the clutch?

The Serial Number is BZBF-1308277 BF2D2 Does this help?

I am guessing the Drive shaft could be seized? But unsure of how to start to dismantle it, do I have to remove the engine first? Or is it not as complicated as that? Will all different springs and bits fall out if I try to take it apart???

Any help would be very gratefully received

Many Thanks and Kind Regards

Carl

Go to the link below and find an approximation of your outboard. It does have a clutch and it is probably stuck. These parts pages are very helpful when you're trying to figure something like this out out and you can also order from these folks and save some real coin over going to a dealer.