Logo

'08 BF90D Falls on its face under heavy load

captjohn

I have 200 hrs on her but it's done this since it was new. On a 22' pontoon and only does it with heavy load running hard. Falls on its face and gets right back up several times with out touching the throttle. It only does this a few times a year. An ob mechanic friend of mine thinks its the screen in the vrs tank. He says I can do the job. I'm also an old "everything" mechanic but auto by trade. Is the job very difficult? He said to remove the intake tubes so I can get to the tank.
Thanks
Capt John

Don't get into the VST yet.

If your engine frame serial number falls between BBCJ-1000001 ~ 1012697, the fuel pump has been modified to correct just such a situation. If this happens to you and squeezing the fuel bulb keeps the engine running smoothly, that is the problem.

It should still be covered under warranty if you are in the USA. You should have a 5 year warranty on the motor unless it is commercially used. I am not sure how it might be covered elsewhere in the world.

The way to tell which one you have by looking at the low pressure pump....on the top rear port side of the engine. If the hose coming from the lower pressure filter goes to the upper nipple on the pump, then it is the old pump.
If the hose goes to the lower nipple, then it is the updated pump.

Mike

Thanks Mike! I'll check it tomorrow. I'm in the US and non commercial.
I love these forums! You guys know more than the dealerships :cool:
Capt. John

Couldn't wait till tomorrow. My serial # is 1007222 and the filter hose goes to the top pump nipple. That explains why it's done it since it was new.
Now, if I can get the dealer to understand! Maybe the new pump wasn't out yet when I was complaining right after I bought it.
Thanks again Mike!
Capt. John

Ask your dealer to check Service Bulletin #66.