Logo

Questions about Honda 7.5

Doug Follett

I just purchased a sailboat that has what appears to be a 1975 Honda 7.5 motor (serial # B75-2007400) that is in need of a going through. I'm a complete Outboard Newbie but have plenty of experience working on old Honda motorcycles of the same vintage. My main question is, should I try and get this motor running and use it or should I spare myself the pain and trouble and get something newer? I was told that it runs but from the looks of it, someone left the lower end in salt water for a while as it is a lot of corrosion and has bad pitting. I have been searching the Internet for parts and information without much luck. Any leads to parts suppliers, advice or thoughts in general would be appreciated. I want a reliable motor for this boat but don't want to go broke getting one.

Doug

Don't know where you are but out here on the "left coast", California, these old Honda's go for a premium because they are such good stuff. Especially the longshafts for sailboat kickers.

It is too bad though that many are left to rot the lower end in salt water on the backs of these boats. Because, case extensions and gear boxes from suppliers like boats.net are cost prohibitive to replace.

But, if you can pull it out and see if it will clean up, you can do some reliable patching with fiberglass cloth or even epoxy and Bondo for just pitting. As long as the housing is sound and can accept new seals, it can be repaired and put back in service. The internals don't cost too much to resurrect one and if an older one has parts listed as "unavailable" or "obsolete" they can often be found on some of the 1990's parts lists. The ignition coils come to mind as an example.

One in decent mechanical and cosmetic shape, out here, can fetch upwards of $700 which is less that 1/2 price from a new 4 or 5 hp from Mercury or Honda or...? And, there are quite a few for sale each month if you live in SoCal and are willing to take a drive to pick one up.