Logo

Flybridge steering cable install

bjackhawaii

Hello everyone! I am brand new to the boating world and forums as well and I Just recently purchased a 1976 Reinell 26' cabin cruiser with flybridge. First time for a boat overhaul or restoration and looking for pointers.

I know virtually nothing about boats but I am a mechanical engineer by trade. Pretty knowledgeable with many aspects of mechanical parts and equipment and also plumbing and electrical... I need to install a new cable for the flybridge steering and need pointers on what to measure, purchase, types to install and so on and so forth. There is no existing cable to start with so I am at a loss for where to start exactly.

Have an inboard OMC 225 with outdrive

Any advise would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited:
Contact the supplier that you will be buying this cable from.
See if they can pull off a cable p/n by the boat year and model number.
If not...... pull a stiff rope, garden hose, or equivilent, into the area where the original steering cable may have laid out.
Give yourself some additional length for bends and turns, etc.
Measure this, and speak with the supplier that can make a suggestion as to which steering cable will suit the need.
They will need to know the type of helm unit..... whether R&P (rack and pinion) or rotary.... most likely R&P for a twin station boat.

OK, at the risk of sounding like a Nah Sayer, note that in 1976, this would be an OMC Stringer Drive.
While many parts are still available, OMC no longer exists, and the Stringer Drive offers some issues.
I have to be honest with you, and tell you that this is not a desireable drive to own.

Here's a bit of unsolicited advice:

Check out the stringers and transom core before you get too far into the project.
While the Stringer Drive does not require a structural transom.... should either be soft and/or decaying, they may require replacement.