Logo

stalling while shifting to drive

fixmycobra

here is my situation. WHen I shift to drive the motor dies if i shift slowly. if i shift fast it doesnt stall. SHifting in reverse there is no problem all is good. can anyone suggest anything to me. I am new to boat repair. 1989 omc cobra

Both the OMC Cobra and Mercruiser A drive use Dog Clutch gear engagement.
Many outboards also use this type of gear engagement.

Going into gear is usually never an issue, it's coming from gear into Neutral that is the issue.
This is because of the Dog Clutch teeth inclined or ramped areas that hold them engaged once a load is placed on them.
This is part of the design.

Here's a Merc sliding sleeve.... very similar to the OMC Cobra.
While difficult to see in the image, the actual contact areas are inclined or ramped.... they are not straight or 90*!
images

Here are two of the corresponding speed gears and dog clutch inclined or ramped engagement teeth.
(the center gear is the "drive" gear.... or aka "pinion" gear by some people)

images

Example only in this next image:
Here we have the two "driven" gears (FWD and REV)
The "drive" gear is not shown.
What they're calling a "clutch dog" I'm calling a "sliding sleeve".
The sliding sleeve installs onto the prop shaft splines (splines are not visible in this image).

All hypoid gear teeth are continuously engaged with one another, and will be turning whenever the engine is running!
The sleeve is free to be moved in either direction for either gear selection.
Only the Dog Clutch teeth actually transfer power to the prop shaft when engaged with either the FWD or REV gear.

1618.jpg

When in gear, and at low engine speed, and with the prop in the water, the prop thrust resistance places a light load on these engagement teeth.
Again... this is by design.
In order to over-come this load, we must momentarily lower engine RPM.
This is accomplished via the OMC ESA..... (electric shift assist).
Merc's system is a SA (shift assist).