Logo

Honda BF50A3 Top Carb Flooding

brunsonc

So, I have a 50hp Honda. When trying to crank it, the top carb floods if it is left to sit for more than two days. If I drain the top carb, crank it up again and run it at high rpm for a short time, it will quit flooding and will crank perfectly for the next day or two. From what I have read, it sounds like a needle valve problem. I have pulled the carb and checked the needle and float and both looked fine to me, but I am no mechanic. Could it be that the needle valve seats need to be polished or cleaned? Does anyone have any ideas? Thanks for any help.

I would inspect and blow out the line feeding fuel to the top carburetor.---Dirt ?????-------------Or just replace the needle and seat and set the float properly.

I will check the top fuel line this afternoon....I have ordered a needle valve, but isn't the seat a solid part of the carburetor? I did not see a part number for it, only for the needle valve. Thanks for the info. I will keep you posted on the outcome.

UPDATE: I replaced the needle valve in the top carburetor, polished the seat, replaced gaskets, and cleaned the jets. Once I got everything put back together I started it up in a test tank to let it warm up for a carb sync, and now the middle carb was spewing fuel from the vent. I shut it off and let it sit long enough to have a beer and try to figure out what the heck was going on. Started it up again in the test tank and there was no flooding from any of the carbs, I sync'd the carbs and she idled awesome. Took her out for a run the next day and she ran great.......But, I'm still wondering why in the world the second carb was flooding once I fixed the top carb? Even though it hasn't done it anymore, I'm afraid that if I let it sit for a couple of days, it will start flooding again.