Logo

It is possible to swap a 3.0L omc engine(omc stern drive) with a V8?

cjensen_68

I am looking at getting a boat but am not too sure about the motor. Its an 80s sunray but I want to know if that motor goes out what does it take to put in a V8 like a 305 or 289? Will it hook to the OMC stern drive that is already there? I'm new to this and would like to know my options before I get this and find out I should have waiting to get another boat. How cheap is it to rebuild the 3.0L engine also?

haha- chief summed it up - you have but one chance to save yourself from OMC headaches...
all boats give you headaches, but Mercruiser migraines throb less

3.0's are expensive to rebuild because there is few automotive equivalent parts. Boat engines rarely need rebuilding though.

If you want a V8 - buy a V8
go buy a Mercruiser Alpha One 260HP Chevrolet 5.7L V8 powered boat. It is one of the most common and plentiful drive trains in the marine market and parts are common and more affordable than OMC parts.

Thank you for your guys imput. I was thinking the same thing with getting the V8. My is wife sitting here is telling me to wait and find one with eveything I want in it....basically a v8 and seats more than 4

I already have an 86 beretta with the Merc 170 that I bought..It has a 4.3 L alpha one stern drive..Will that stern also hook upto a v-8...Does anyone know?The motor doesnt turn over so I dont know how bad it is on the inside right now,,So i would rather just swap the engine if possible..

If it says omc stay away
Unfortunately, or perhaps "fortunately", this is very good advice. :)

haha- chief summed it up - you have but one chance to save yourself from OMC headaches...
all boats give you headaches, but Mercruiser migraines throb less

3.0's are expensive to rebuild because there is few automotive equivalent parts. Boat engines rarely need rebuilding though.

If you want a V8 - buy a V8