Logo

2001 yamaha f115 4stroke RPM ranges

soloblazer

i just bought a 22' princecraft deckboat and it has a 2001 yamaha f115 4stroke on it, just was wondering what the max rpms is, and also what a good rpm for cruising would be. also i am new to the 4stroke world, have owned many 2 stroke but not 4 stroke, if anyone could give me the dos and donts of these 4storkes that would be great, thanks.

I think max rpms will differ based on boat size and also which prop is on the motor, but my f115s max out around 5500 and I consider a good cruising level to be between 4000 and 4500, depending on how fuel efficient you want to be. 4000 rpms gives me better fuel economy.

Thanks for the reply, i know it depends on the boat and weight and prop etc, i just want to not be over reving the motor, do you know the max rpm yamaha says.

I've read where Yamaha targets 5500-6000 for WOT rpms.......so I wouldn't go over 6000. And if your motor has the ability to get over 6000, you probably need a bigger prop.

Ok, thanks for the answers, it seems as if i dont go over 5500 i am safe to go. Also what do i need to do to this motor for the winter, i live in the mountains of NC so its not extremely cold but does get below freezing. thanks