Logo

OMC 400 outdrive - Impeller question

Cableguy

I'm new at this, but no stranger to wrenching, just need some advice on the best way to tackle replacing the impeller. Motor is OMC 120 HP with the 400 OMC outdrive. I'm pretty sure it's fine, but I know it hasn't been replaced in at least 8 years, according to the previous owner. It got really hot last week, but the guage read normal (180), and seems to runs much cooler after I replaced the thermostat yesterday. I took off the hose that delivers water to the engine and verified a solid stream, so I know that the outdrive pump works (for now).
I have had different tell me different things, but the manual indicates that the entire outdrive needs to come off then remove the ball gear, and not just the lower gearcase like othere have said. It's on a mooring, and if the marina near my house wasn't so busy I would probably take it there, but they are backed up 2 weeks at least. If this is something I can do in a day I'll get it out of the water but it's kind of a hassle because I don't have a truck, blah blah blah........so I just need an expert to tell me what I'm in for if I tackle this myself. Thanks!

is this an electric shift model? when the motor is fully up, is there a cable running thru the area above the main center exhaust and into the upper gear unit? If so, you can change the water pump without removing the whole damned thing but its a real biatch. You can do it in the water but make sure its shallow!

Nope not electric shift.

Motor fully up? Do you mean the motor trimmed up (funny trim system mounted to front of motor) or outdrive tilted up?

If I'm going to try this it won't be in the water, too hard to find bolts and tools down there lol

On a trailer if all you want to do is pull the water pump in the drive is tilt the drive halfway up.

Remove the very top 5 screws on the drive the whole exhaust shield and lower will drop down place it on tble or cooler or chair you placed next to the drive.