Logo

What year is this Classic50, plus other questions!

T4-Teg

OK I just bought a 16' Caprice with a Merc Classic50 45hp engine. I really dont know much about it at this point, im pretty new to the boat scene, but wanting to learn. The boat was probably sitting for a little over 6 months, but started right up even with his gas can with who knows how old gas.

The previous owner said he thinks the engine is a 1987 model but not sure. The Serial number is 0B357059. The other ID plate on the engine is completly blank, Im assuming the printed marks faded away over the years, but not sure?

Im really neeing to buy some tuneup parts for the engine, as well as a manual for it.

The other questions I have is the running conditions of the engine. When its cold with the fast idle lever up, it will start up pretty much first try, and you have to wait atleast 30 seconds for the engine to warm up before you can put the fast idle lever all the way down and begin to drive. I assume this is normal?

The other main concern is after fishing for a little bit the engine is VERY hard to get started. I have to use choke, fast idle lever, and just put it in gear really fast and give it some heavy throttle or it just dies. Again, after 5 minuits and I finally get it started i have to use the fast idle lever to keep it running, and I have to let it free rev for atleast 30 seconds for it to stay running at idle.

The final problem is that when I give it full throttle, after just a few seconds I hear a stedy beeeeepppp.. Once I herd that I immediatly let it idle and the alarm stopped. It will only do it if I try to go full throttle. I have been only using 3/4 throttle or less and no alarms at all. I only heard the alarm twice, the second time only to verify it would do it again.