Logo

how to change oil on a yamaha 9.9 hp 2003 outboard motor.

jferna6167

hello there guys, i am new to having a boat so please help me out on how to change the oil on a yamaha 9.9 hp 2003 outboard motor 4 stroke, i got the boat as a gift from my cousin and i just registered it under my name so now i want to start working on the motor. people told that before starting the motor since its been sitting for about 3 years in the back yard i needed to change the oil first and oil filter. any suggestions or advise i will appreciated so much. thanks..

what type of oil?

yes there is a drain plug on the motors back (the prop side)
also do fuel filters
thermostats
water-pump
lower unit-fluid
spark plugs

thanks for your advice and sorry for not replying sooner, too much work. i just change the motor oil and gear oil. i have not change the rest. i tried to started and wont start at all any advice. i just bought the manual and i will start reading for the rest of the list that you advice to do. thanks.

If carburetors sit with fuel in them they tend to plug the tiny jets and passage ways.-----------Easy to take apart and clean them out. -----------Always run fuel out of the carburetor if it is going to sit for a while.

i have clean and re-build the carb and change the spark plugs and still nothing. i cant get it to turn on. when i crank it the propeller moves very little every time i pull it moves 1/2 inch or less with every pull. i have seen never models with an on/off switch on the shaft or next to the shaft but on this one there is nothing, so i dont know if i am on start or choke mode. there is only a red (pull) switch in front of motor and i dont know what it is for. any ideas whats the switch for and what could be the problem with this issue? and thanks for all the replies, sorry i take long to respond but i dont have much time. thanks alot.