Logo

Check list for non starting issues 1981 Merc 9.8hp

buff

Hello all,

I have a 1980-1981 (2 years for the same set of serial numbers for some reason) 9.8 Mercury that I'm having problems starting. I'm new in the world of outboard motors (I also own a 1968 Penn Yan 23' sportfisherman with merc Alpha One I/O). The motor has good compression and started on about the 3rd pull for about 2 weeks. Recently I had to have the rewind assembly fixed at my local shop, and after having it returned I've found that it won't start. What is a good check list of things to look for while attempting to get it started again? I've already changed the sparkplugs (simple enough fix) and I know that there is gas getting to the carb (as I see some dripping out after priming the bulb). The only issue I can see as a problem is the wire from the stop button is corroded (although still in tact) but doesn't appear to be any worse than it was when it was starting before. Any ideas on things to check for?

Thanks all! :)

Buff

Re: Check list for non starting issues 80-81 Merc 9.8

check for spark, remove a plug and ground it to the engine, pull rope, no spark = no start. If the carb is dripping it is not right, it might be flooding the engine. With the plugs out and if you pull the rope the cyls should make a poof poof sound to let you know that fuel/air is being drawn in.

check for spark, remove a plug and ground it to the engine, pull rope, no spark = no start. If the carb is dripping it is not right, it might be flooding the engine. With the plugs out and if you pull the rope the cyls should make a poof poof sound to let you know that fuel/air is being drawn in.