Logo

1983' 200hp merc, idle trouble

cydaddy06

Hi all,

I have a 83' 200hp mercury. Starts and runs perfect (for a 2 stroke) when cold. I push the choke and she comes to life, no problem. No meddling with the throttle, no tricks.

After running it WOT for 10-15 min or so it won't idle. If I slow down and put it in neutral it dies. Then to get it started again I have to bring the throttle up 1/4 way or so. When it does start, it sputters and smokes like crazy. Then to get going I have to drop the throttle and throw it in gear before the rpms' drop below 500 or so, and give it some, or it will die again.

I am a bit of a newbie to boating, but am well versed in other
mechanical (disasters) hobbies. I have bought a Seloc Manual for this motor, and have been reading it and on this forum about trouble shooting this motor, pin holes in the fuel pump diaphram, clogged jets, air leaks in gaskets and such. I know it has fresh gas. and I know the spark plugs are new.

Since I have more than once been accused of being a "parts replacer" rather than a good mechanic. I thought I would shoot this post out there and see what comes back before I spend $$$$ replacing perfectly good parts.

On a side note: This is an 87' 21' checkmate with 83' 200hp Mercury. It has a 21" pitch S.S. Prop, and NADA says it weights 2300 lbs. When I floor it, it really dosen't do anything until it hits 2000 rpm, then you'd better be sitting down. Is this normal? Or Should it get up and go from Idle?

Thanks so much in advance for any opinion, advice, or comments.

Re: 83' 200hp merc, idle trouble

How long have you had the boat? Has the idle recently been adjusted? Sounds like you might have the idle set too low.

I've only had the boat for a month.

If the idle adjustment was off, would it idle perfectly when cold?