Logo

whats the cure for no pressure fuel tank 1956 10hp

I have a 1956 johnson 10 hp motor, but have no fuel tank. I kinda would like to keep it original as much as possible, but will do what it takes to make her useable again. Are there any pressure tanks available? If not is there a kit for a fuel pump for these? Thanks in advance.

Re: whats the cure for no pressure fuel tank

You can check ebay for a pressurized fuel tank...there's usually some available.

Thanks, for the info all; I started this boat thing this spring fixing up my granfathers old 1968 appleby 12ft row boat. I started playing with the old omc motors a bit. so far I have 2 fisherman 6 hp motors a 56 johnson 10 hp, and a unidentified 5 hp motor. I plan on collecting mid 50's small motors , I think there the coolest looking. So ill be after motors up to 18hp for my collection. And probably be asking lots more questions. I am 49 years old and have a 6 year old daughter who loves my boat and fishing, I told her it will be hers. So this is a dad daughter thing that dad is getting obsessed with. anyhow thanks . You know you would think that one of the parts stores such as this one would put together a kit for this in one simple package complete. Or reman tanks.
IS THERE ANY REASON i CANNOT TAKE THE PULSE FOR A FUEL PUMP FROM THE PORT MARKED AIR?????

Last edited:

Go to aomci.org for sure. I know there are members in your area that would likely help out either with sources or parts. Some would disagree about the coolest looking part (personally I prefer the 57 Javelin with the 56 Javelin a close second) as they maybe into some other maker. Some of the 50's Mercury motors can be real pretty. The two motors to watch for in the QD series are the 14 and 15. Each has a finned area on the mid-tower along with a raised SeaHorse emblem.

I believe that port...under the carburetor does not offer a pulse but pumps air under enough pressure to blow the diaphragm