Logo

No top end under load 1990 20hp

Mercury 20hp 1990

No power @ WOT. Bogs right down. Motor starts everytime, idles great and trolls fine. But when opened up starts sputtering. Here's the thing...in neutral the motor will rev up no problem. Changed a lot parts. I've almost given up, almost. Any help would be greatly appriected.

Last edited:
Re: No top end under load

Jeff the carb has been cleaned and new parts. fuel pump too. I'm new to this but if it can be rev'd high in neutral how can it be a fuel problem?

Jonny,
it takes a lot less gas to rev an engine when it's not under load. A carb that has a partially obstructed main jet(s) will oftentimes be able to supply enough fuel to rev the engine in neutral but not enough to bring it up to speed when actually pushing the boat.

Last edited:

Agree - think of your car - don't you have to step on it a little harder (give it more gas) when you are towing the boat up a hill?. Your outboard is the same. In neutral you can wind her right up and she is only sucking "a little" gas - drop it in gear and ask it to push 1000 pounds and it wants a "way bigger straw" and if that fuel line, filter or carb is clogged - OR the gas is old, lost it's octane, is now 5-10% water etc, she will bogg on you...

If you are positive that the carb was cleaned, rebuilt and adjusted properly (and the timing linkage wasn't messed up) then I would be looking at bad/old gas as the problem and possibly some water in the tank.

that makes sense about the straw analogy. carb was clean when i took it apart. however I still cleaned a blew out everything. new gaskets all around. I have a gut feeling it could be the timing. But how can it get messed up. I have gone through about 4 tanks since problem started. Could running on the richer side cause this problem?