Logo

2000 40hp Mercury slips in reverse at high rpm

jldillen

I am no mechanic but here goes....
2000 40 hp Mercury 2 stroke 2 cylinder
Remote steering

I can use reverse fine at low rpms. If I add fuel to get off the trailer or hard reverse I can hear and feel the lower unit slip. ONLY IN REVERSE.

Took to marine repair place to have it checked. They told me that a spring that goes inside the prop shaft was probably bad.(Is that a possible cause?)
I disconnected the shift shaft and you can feel it lock in to F and N. When I put it into R it does not click and when I let it go it comes right back up.

Any ideas....?

I have the lower unit off and tore down right now. Spring looks to be in one piece. Ordered a new one today so that I would have something to compare it to.

I also have a new seal kit. I am going to change all of the seals as I go back together.

Any Ideas would be more than appreciated. Like I said this is all new to me. Never been inside a lower unit before. Dont really know what to look for. Thanks in advance!
Jason

Re: 40 Mercury slips in reverse at high rpm

The spring (and there are two of them) doesn't sound right.

The springs are there to move the clutch out of reverse back into forward. If the springs were weak or broke you would most likely end up stuck in reverse, it wouldn't slip out of reverse.

If the reverse gear and the clutch look ok where the two mate up it's more than likely just an adjustment problem with the shift cable (or it's streached out of shape etc).

This is just a recent problem? or you have just acquired the motor so you don't know if it's been doing it for a while??

(should have added)

The other issue could be a worn shift cam - it's kinda like a wedge at the bottom of the shift shaft. To get reverse the (wide) part of the wedge is needed to push the pin that moves the clutch into reverse. So if it's worn, it won't fully engage.