Logo

50173s needs choke to run, no power

hoverfish

Hey everyone,
First off, I'll admit I'm new to this. My Dad had a 1971 50173S which ran somewhat during the time he owned it, then it sat for about 5 years without being run. Then he passed away last fall. Now I'm trying to get it running.

Dad suspected the coils, but I don't remember why. I saw he had replaced one, so I replaced the other. I took the carbs off and blew out a bunch of goo. Put them back on, replaced the fuel filter, put on a new fuel tank, put on the muffs and it started right up and ran fine. Woo-hoo!

Now, here's my problem: I took it to the lake to try it out there and it coughed and sputtered when I tried to start it, and wouldn't stay running unless I pulled the manual choke lever a bit. In gear, it has no power. It won't rev up much past idle. Even after running 20 minutes or so, I couldn't push the choke lever back in without it dying. Funny, as I was able to cut the choke after a couple seconds at home on the muffs.

I haven't been able to put it back on the muffs yet since I got home, but I have pulled both plugs and they look a bit wet.

So before I start barking up the wrong tree, does it look like the road trip shook something loose in one or both carbs that I hadn't cleaned out last time?

Last edited:
Get two factory carb rebuild kits and get to work.
If it were mine all fuel lines and fuel pump would be replaced also.
If you were blowing out goo, there is certainly more in there clogging up the jets.
Get a manual also, preferably a factory one.