Logo

Evinrude 50HP "Slipping", possible?

buchinmj

I'm new to boat ownership, and recently picked up a boat with an Evinrude 50HP outboard, its blue and has a part number of E50BELCOB. The first time I took it out, it fired right up, idled a little rough, but warmed up. Got it out, on plane, and suddenly lost power. Debris in the carb was the culprit.

After having the carbs cleaned, I took it out today. Again the engine fired right up, warmed up, and ran fine. I accelerated the boat to half throttle and it started to move, I then pushed the lever to full throttle, and you could almost feel the prop disengage as if the clutch on a manual car transmission had been pushed in. The engine revved, but no power. As I eased back on the throttle, you could feel the prop engage the water; again, much like letting out the clutch on a manual car transmission. If I attempted to accelerate to quickly the same thing would happen. For fear that there was something damaged, I eased up, and just putted around the lake at low throttle. The boat is new to me, I was burning personal time from work, and I wasn't leaving just yet!

So, once on the lake, I shut the boat off and drifted a while. I finally decided to go in, and I started putting back. I figured, why not try one more time and see what happens. So I accelerated very slowly. Low and behold, it got on plane, and was running wide open. No matter how hard I turned the boat, I couldn't get the "slip" to repeat itself. So I slowed back down. I then pushed the throttle to wide open, and again it "slipped". If I eased into it, it would accelerate.