Logo

Ethanol Fuel

Danebramage

New to this board. I am a long time all around mechanic, certified from the school of hard knocks. Also from buying broken down junk and turning it into somthing of value. My question and concern is, now that it looks like we are going to get Ethanol rammed up our keisters like it or not. Are there any good additives that are actually going to help with all the problems that go along with it??? Like hardend and degraded diaphrams, degraded rubber of all kinds, and the fact that it breaks down and water falls out of it. Also I have found a white gel like substance in outboard carbs recently that i have never seen before. I can only attribute this to Dirty, Rotten, and Stinking,,,,,,,,,Ethanol.

It is no where near as bad as some people would have you believe. Old motors need to have the rubber hoses replaced and rebuild the fuel pump. I have been running that stuff for over 12 years now (about12 different types of motors) and have had one problem that can be blamed directly on ethanol. And Merc put a TSB out on that a long time ago.

Totally agree - ran E-10 for a good number of years and have been running E-15 (coming to many gas stations near you in the near future) for the past two seasons, and likewise, have had zero issues that could be traced to ethanol (in fact, had zero issues).

The motors I run it in are mid-80's models with the newest one being a 1991 model.

I use no additives different than I did with regular unleaded - so only some stabil (or generic equivalent).

The ethanol gas will leave you with a cleaner fuel system than regular gas. The initial problems noted were when first switching over. The ethanol was cleaning the "crud" out of the system resulting in clogs, but once cleaned, if you always run fresh/stablized gas you are significantly "less likely" to develop a clog than running gas without ethanol.